Be nice to yourself…

19 Dec

imageWhenever I’m training for a race (which is usually a constant) and having a hard time, my coach always ends her emails  with “be nice to yourself.”  I’ve had a rough few weeks of getting it together. The holidays do that to everyone, so I am no special case. So lately when my mileage and speed aren’t adding up in my favor, I have gotten a quite a few “be nice to yourself” messages from her.  This doesn’t just go for pounding the pavement, this goes for life. Sooooo…

Hey you over there.  The one who is overworked and trying to get their shit together before Christmas. Be nice to yourself.  The holiday will come and go in a blur. Try and and enjoy it.  When Grandma Ethel pinches your love handles and makes a comment about how you need to work on that…take a sip of wine and be nice to yourself.

And you, single mom or dad, be nice to yourself. You are doing amazing. Who cares if your kid goes to school with no drawers on. He/She made it. You love your special little pumpkin and that little pumpkin loves you.

The people who are dealing with loss. Did you hear me? Be nice to yourself.  Right now life sucks a lottle (I did that on purpose).You’re allowed to think it sucks. You can’t punish people who are happy, but give yourself a hug, because you need one. If you aren’t feeling a hug, I’m a full frontal hugger. Hugs are my favorite, just come see me!

You over there, working your ass off to provide for your family. Awesome fucking job!!!! Be nice to yourself! You’re doing the best you can. Try and kick back for a few and enjoy a moment or two.

So do you kind of get it?

I have spent the last few weeks tallying up the things I need to do.  Get Christmas done, school stuff for the kids, Christmas shopping, half marathon training, work and trying to work extra. I’m not alone. We are mostly all in the same boat.

I made some realizations about things yesterday. Things we all know (because  we are all so super smart), but I’m going to say anyways.

If we aren’t nice to ourselves, no one is going to do it for us.  I know lots of caring people, it doesn’t mean they are taking care of you.  I also know that you can’t expect others to give a shit the same way you do. That’s just life.  I am chock full of shits to give. I love making people smile. I love making people laugh.  I love trying to do nice things whenever I can. I also realize that not everyone has the same give a shit I do.  (Sucks…right????)  Perception is different for everyone. The realization of that will get you right in the ticker every damn time.  I’m not sure about you, but that’s one of my favorite parts of me.  And I’m totally willing to give a little heartache to see someone else smile. Here’s the thing though… I’m only willing to give up a small part of me.  Because I matter…and so do you.

If other’s can’t see that because their give a damn may be broken, just try and be nice to yourself. The holiday’s will come and go.  The gifts will be unwrapped. The food will be eaten. The fun times with family and friends will pass.   You are left with you. (I’m not saying you’re alone…but let’s face it, we are all stuck with what’s inside.)

So…just remember to be nice to yourself. You are worth it. If your stressed have a good cry or some vino (or a nice long run).  If you are happy…awesome sauce! If you are sad, let’s just hug it out.

Don’t give all of you away…keep some of the goodness for yourself. Because you are so worth it!

Merry Christmas from DP Babbles to you! xo

 

 

5 Responses to “Be nice to yourself…”

  1. Marianne December 19, 2015 at 9:22 pm #

    Good advice for any time of the year. It seems like when life is the most stressful is when we put ourselves dead last in the priorities. I could stand to work on this. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. Laura DiBella December 29, 2015 at 7:24 pm #

    I love that you wrote this. You are truly a blessing Donna. Xo

    Like

    • DP Babbles December 30, 2015 at 4:21 pm #

      Thank you, Laura. You’ve taught me so much. I’m so grateful to you. 🙂

      Like

  3. Katie January 4, 2016 at 8:02 pm #

    You are so much stronger than you know! I love reading this…so raw and true to you! I think 2016 is your year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • DP Babbles January 5, 2016 at 4:22 am #

      I believe you may just be right Katie. It’s going to be an exciting year and I’m so thankful I have someone like you in my corner! Thank you for your kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

