The Thanksgiving Prequel

25 Nov

With the holidays fast approaching and Thanksgiving being so damn close you can touch it, I thought I would give a shout out to everything I’m thankful for. I’m thankful for too many things to list, so I’ll just give you a few.

Firstly, I’m thankful I’m here and that all of you are too. Each one of you holds a special place in my life. Yes, even the people I don’t know, like the two people who kind of made me an international blogger (Thank you Costa Rica and Canada!). You read my ramblings, and maybe even liked it. To people I know, the ones that make me laugh, the ones that trip on the imaginary cracks in the ground, or tell a dirty joke or even  use those ridiculous new emoticons. I’m a big fan of spirit fingers and eye rolling…big fat thank you to you.

To the guy who vaccumed my car the other day. You may have vaccumed up all of the “good luck” coins my family threw under the rug, but my car remains looking stellar so thank you. You totally wiped out my good luck or even stole the coins to buy a bag of chips. But my family has a bet running to see how long I can keep my new car maintained. They are all losing the bet, and for that I thank you.

I’d like to give a shout out to the lady at Target who when my son had a melt down looked down at him, smiled, and said “Bless your heart.” Girlfriend, I knew what the eff that meant.  But thank you, I bless his heart every damn day. He’s got the energy of a dazzle of zebras, so bless his heart all you want.  I’m all positive and thankful that he has energy to burn and that when he’s 30 him throwing a fit on the floor of Target will be a thing of the past.

To the dude who honked his horn  as soon as the light turned green today, thanks for reminding it was time to move. Now, as soon as the FOUR cars in front of me start groovin’, I’ll be happy to help a brother out. Until then, thanks for being a dickhead nice person and giving me a “gentle” reminder.

I’m thankful to the maker of my prelit Christmas tree. Because of our schedules, I had to bite the bullet and put it up a few days early.  You have reminded me how important “just the tip” is. The whole damn tree is almost lit.  Do you know what’s not lit? Yep, you guessed it…just the tip. Big important life lessons out of a little Christmas tree.

I’m thankful I have a job. Being a Pediatric ICU nurse is certainly rewarding, but it has also given me a sick and twisted sense of humor to deal with the ins and outs of it.  Speaking of that sick and twisted sense of humor, I am thankful for 3am conversations. The ones that are done mostly in whispers so no one wakes up. The ones that have us giggling and crying. I’d also like to apologize because sometimes 3am convos turn in to 6 and 7am convos when I’m there. Frankly, I think the day shift needs a little shock and awe. I’m thankful I can provide that. (You’re welcome bitches!)

I’m thankful for all of my friends who don’t judge me and know that even though I’m a bearer of comedy and twisted fun, realize that I just like to make sure everyone is laughing or smiling. These are my favorite things. Although we can’t do them all of the time, I’m going to give it my best .

Speaking of sick and twisted. I would like to thank the Disney Junior show PJ Masks for somehow prompting my son to call me a pussy ninja the other day.  Um, that’s not a nice word, Jax! Where did you learn that (I am known for not saying that word so stop thinking it’s my fault!) So somehow he misconstrued something on the show and now thinks his mom is a pussy ninja. I’m not even sure what that is…but hell, I guess I’ll take it as a compliment. I’m stealthy and shit.  I’d also like to thank him for being smart enough to realize when I said “Shitakke mushrooms” upon dropping something on the floor the other day, that it was a lot nicer than saying shit.  “Mommy! You said Shitakke mus-rooms! That sounds weird but nicer than shit.” Way to sneak one in there big guy. I’m on to you.

Lastly, and seriously. I really do have so much to be thankful for. We all do. Life sucks sometimes. Sometimes it’s great, exciting even. I like the exciting parts. Everyone of us can find one small thing to be thankful for. Hey, you reading this. Thank you…just for being you. I know that the holidays are stressful, but just when you think you’ve had enough…take a little breath and know that you are the reason someone smiles…or even pees their pants laughing.  Strap on your Depends ladies and gents because the weeks ahead could be wild.

Wishing everyone a very very Happy Thanksgiving. I am so thankful for you. Xo

3 Responses to “The Thanksgiving Prequel”

  1. Kelli November 25, 2015 at 3:09 am #

    Love this! Happy Thanksgiving to the Babbles family!! Love and gratitude!
    Kelli

    Like

  2. Marianne November 25, 2015 at 7:12 pm #

    Love it as usual! So happy your fan base is now multi-country. Pretty impressive! Have a great Thanksgiving and hope you’ll come break a sweat with me soon.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Thanksgiving Prequel | DP Babbles - November 25, 2015

    […] Source: The Thanksgiving Prequel […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

