The Battle of Curly vs Straight Hair

27 Oct

image

I was the little blonde with straight hair until about 5th grade when the hormones hit. My hair got darker and curled up into tight ringlets.  Adding to the dork factor was “the bowl cut” and the bushy bangs.  Most of us have had that truly awkward stage. Mine lasted forever. Add to that, the horror of bra snapping because I was blessed with quite the rack at an early age plus some crooked teeth, and you have Francis what’s his dick calling me jagged teeth in the playground…a total nightmare. I was totally jealous of my sister and cousins. They were blessed with the amazing hair (including color) and Italian features. I got the mouse brown, kinky curly hair. If my ass didn’t match theirs, I would totally have thought I came from the milk man.

Fast forward to the less awkward years where teeth have straightened and I’ve finally done something with my hair and I still have those awkward moments. Don’t we all? Until one day, I had my hair blown out straight and the perfect dye job, and holy shit…it was like the stars aligned. I didn’t feel so awkward. And thus began the curly vs straight debate.

How many times in a week do I get asked these questions: Is that your hair?  Can I touch it? Followed by the comments. Wow! People would pay so much money for your curls! it’s so soft. Wow…soft. They are perfect curls, like ramen noodles,

And I get it.  There are things I love about my curls. That I can throw in some Curls Rock and let it dry and…Voila! Perfect curls!I don’t even have to blow dry my locks, But on the other hand, these are the things I don’t love about it. You want to touch my tresses? Now you’ve gone and frizzed it up. When the girls at work want their hair to be played with, (don’t judge us…we have to get through the night some how) guess who never gets their hair played with. Yep, that right bitches, it’s me. “DP, play with my hair pleeeeeaaasssseee!”  Sure! No problem. I don’t feel left out of the hair playing at all. (note the sarcasm…also note that I am a nice friend and will always help a sista out)  I also just can’t wake up and have hair ready to go. I always have to get up early and wash it.  I’ll scare people if not. Boo!

The four or so times a year I get my hair done, I always have it blown out. My amazing hairdresser, Angie, does the best job!  We laugh every time about me coming home and looking like a different person for a couple of days until the humidity hits and I look like a poodle again. Every time I come home, my son comes up to me in awe like he’s seen me for the first time. He takes a deep breath, strokes my hair and says “Mommy, you are so beautiful!” And I feel it. Nothing says goofy girl like curly hair does. Straight hair for a couple of days and all of a sudden I’m not treated like the goofy chick I really am. Everyone seems to get a little quieter around me. People take me more seriously.  And if I get the opportunity to get all dressed up with my straight hair, I stand up a little straighter, get a little sassier.   Every curly hair girl who has had their hair straightened can attest to being treated differently.  Damn you straight-haired girls!!!!

So in the great debate of keratin or not, I’m not so sure what I’ll choose. But I do know this. Regardless of how people treat me, I am imperfectly perfect just the way I am.  I am strong despite not having the perfect body. I feel good whether my hair is curly or straight.  I have accomplished so much in a short time that me being me is totally cool. And if I decide to be straight for a bit, it will only be for a change, not to make a better me. I f@cking rock just the way I am…even when I don’t feel amazing.

What does this mean? Be you. Be your perfectly imperfect self. In the end, it won’t matter what your hair looked like. It just matters that you are a good person with a good heart. Spread that shit around like a glitter bomb. I’m going to keep on being my sassy self..curls or not. We all have the opportunity to be who and whatever we want to be…we just have to be brave enough to take the step. So be you…and do so bravely!

Leave a Reply

